Burren Holy Wells

Tobar Chaimín, Caherminnuan West, Kilfenora.

Tobar Chamín, Caherminnaun West, Kilfenora - Burren Holy Wells

THE SAINT According to tradition, Saint Caimín is a 7th century monk – subsequently canonised with a cult limited to County Clare. Two other sites in the county are dedicated to him. They are both in the south-east of the county - Inis Cealtra (Holy Island) on Lough Derg and Moynoe in Scarriff.  The oldest church … Continue reading Tobar Chaimín, Caherminnuan West, Kilfenora.

Tobargahard – Gragan East, Rathborney.

INTRODUCTIONThe R480 is a 16.4 kilometre long regional road stretching from Ballyvaughan in the north of the Burren to Leamaneh Castle in the south. It is the main arterial route in the Burren interior. In high season the road can be heavily trafficked. The roadside is packed with outstanding National Monuments including the ring forts … Continue reading Tobargahard – Gragan East, Rathborney.

Tobar Colmcille, Glencolmcille South, Carran.

INTRODUCTIONGleann Cholm Cille. Glencolmcille. The valley of Colmcille. Known locally as “Glan”, it is a fertile valley in the north east of the Burren characterised today by improved grasslands and a sparse population.  The valley is enclosed by the region’s distinctive rocky uplands. Glencolmcille may have served as an ancient route way into the Burren … Continue reading Tobar Colmcille, Glencolmcille South, Carran.

Tobar Iníon Baoith – Commons South, Killinaboy.

Holy Wells of the Burren - Tobar Iníon Baoith, Commons South, Killinaboy

THE SAINTIníon Baoith is a localised female saint whose cult is mostly found in mid-Clare. The eminent local historian, Michael McMahon, has identified 17 holy wells dedicated to Iníon Baoith in the Ordnance Survey name books from the 1840s. The wells have a mid-Clare geographical bias. They are located at Killinaboy, Kilnamona, Glensleade, Kilshanny, Kilmanaheen, … Continue reading Tobar Iníon Baoith – Commons South, Killinaboy.